Paolinelli Network

The Paolinelli Nobel Peace Network 2021 brings together institutions from the academic and agribusiness sectors to coordinate the nomination of the former brazilian Minister of Agriculture Alysson Paolinelli to the Nobel Peace Prize and stimulate the engagement of society’s leaders — in Brazil and abroad — around his nomination.
Paolinelli was the leader of the sustainable tropical agricultural revolution that transformed Brazil into a global agri-food power and brought new horizons for world food security and the sustainable development of countries in the tropical belt.

To develop its actions, the network was organized into four management groups:

Coordinating Council

The highest management body, headed by the former Minister of Agriculture Roberto Rodrigues, and composed by the institutions that participate in the Network.

Executive Committee

Responsible for the integrated management of the Network's actions. Also headed by Roberto Rodrigues and formed by seven members.

Academic Committee

Develops relationship actions with the Academy, in Brazil. It is coordinated by Evaldo Vilela, president of the National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPQ).

International Committee

It acts before entities and universities abroad. Coordinated by Manuel Otero, director-general of the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA).

Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded by the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which is responsible for the nomination rules, the selection of eligible candidates, and the choice of Nobel Peace winners. It is the only Nobel prize to be held outside Sweden, where the award was created.

The Prize is awarded in Oslo, the capital of Norway, and its Committee is formed by five members nominated by the norwegian parliament. In recent years, the number of candidates has surpassed the level of 300/year. Nominations are made until January 31st and the deliberations for choosing the winner take place over several months, until October of each year.

Who can support

Several segments of international institutions, worldwide governance, and the Academy can support nominations for the Award. For example:

Rectors and directors of universities, directors of peace research institutes and foreign policy institutes;

University professors, emeritus professors, and associate professors of history, social sciences, law, philosophy, theology and religion;

Members of national assemblies and national governments (cabinet members and ministers).

Instituto Norueguês Nobel, em Oslo, sede do Comitê Norueguês do Nobel da Paz.

A little bit of history

The first Nobel Peace Prize was awarded in 1901 to the swiss Henry Dunant, for having founded the International Committee of the Red Cross, and to the french Frédéric Passy, as an organizer of the first Universal Peace Congress. The most recent award was given to the United Nations World Food Program in 2020.

To this day, there have been 132 awards, between individuals (107) and institutions (25). Among the winners, men represented 84.1% and women 15.9%. Linus Pauling, a winner of the 1962 Nobel Peace Prize (for his campaign against nuclear tests), was the only person to have won the Nobel Prize twice, having won the 1954 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.